2019 U.S. ceramic and porcelain tile market

The U.S. ceramic tiles market size was estimated at 273 million sq.m. and valued at  u$s 346.5 billion. The U.S. imported 193 million sq.m. down more than 5% from 2018. China export to U.S. fell dramatically in 2019.  Other exporting countries to the U.S are Mexico, Spain, Italy, Brazil, Turkey. 

Mohawk is world´s largest flooring manufacturer, and is the leading ceramic tile and porcelain tile company both in the U.S. with Daltile (+30% market share in U.S.),  and with other brands like  American Olean, Marazzi, Eliane, Ragno.

Other important companies that have manufacturer facilities in that country are: Crossville, Interceramic, Del Conca, Florim, Graniti Fiandre. The largest number of factories are in Texas and Tennessee. More than half of the ceramic floors sold in the U.S. are porcelain tile.

Top ceramic and porcelain tile retailers

Home Depot   (homedepot.com)

During fiscal 2019, sales were a record $110.2 billion, an increase of 1.9 percent compared to fiscal 2018.  With 2,291 stores located throughout the U.S., Canada and Mexico, Home Depot is the leader in ceramic and porcelain tile. The Home Depot stores average approximately 104,000 square feet of enclosed space (9,600 sq.m.). Flooring are about 7% of the company’s business. 

Lowe´s   (lowes.com)

Net sales for fiscal 2019 increased 1.2% over fiscal year 2018 to $72.1 billion.

Lowe´s operated 1,977 home centers representing approximately 208 million square feet of retail selling space, in U.S. and in Canada. The increase in total sales was driven by an increase in comparable sales, offset by a decrease in sales due to closed stores and the exist of the Mexico and Orchard Supply Hardware businesses. Flooring are about 6% of the company’s business. 

Floor & Decor  (flooranddecor.com)

Founded in 2000, Floor & Decor is a high-growth, differentiated, multi-channel specialty retailer of hard surface flooring and related accessories with 120 warehouse-format stores across 30 states.  Their stores average approximately 76,000 square feet (7,060 m2), are typically larger than any of our specialty retail flooring competitors’ stores.

Floor & Decor purpose is “everyday low prices in the retail hard surface flooring market”.

Total net sales are about  u$s 2.05 billion in 2019. 

Menards  (menards.com)

Menard is the nation’s third-largest home improvement chain behind Home Depot and Lowe’s. Is a family-owned company started in 1958,  operates over 300 stores in 14 states throughout the Midwest.  Total net sales are about  u$s 10 billion. 

The Tile Shop  (tileshop.com)

Operate 140 stores in 31 states, with an average size of 21,300 square feet (2000 m2)

Based in Plymouth, MN total sales are about u$s 300 million.

Emser Tile  (emser.com)

Established in 1968, Emser Tile, headquartered in Los Angeles. Operate 78 showrooms and service locations and 4 distribution centers. 

Bedrosians  (bedrosians.com)

With 44 branches located throughout California, Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, Utah, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Texas, Georgia, North Carolina, and Florida with a national and international customer base.  Started in 1948 in Central California.

Arizona Tile  (arizonatile.com)

Founded in 1977, Arizona Tile has grown to more than 27 locations in 8 states. 

Walker Zanger   (walkerzanger.com)

Started in 1952, operate 13 showrooms and exclusive dealers.

Best Tile   (besttile.com)

With 25 stores in 9 states, Massachusetts,  Maryland, North Carolina, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, Vermont. Is one of the largest importers of tile.

Century Tiles  (century-tiles.com)

Century Tile’s ten locations and commitment to Chicago for over 70 years.

Tile America  (tileamerica.com)

With 7 stores in Connecticut is one of the largest importers of tile in the state.

Gulf Tile  (gulftile.com)

Family owned and operated in the Tampa area since 1960 with Five convenient branch locations complete with a warehouse and designer showroom serve the Bay Area in Tampa, Largo, Bradenton, Sarasota, and Fort Myers. 

Mosaic Tile Company  (mosaictileco.com)

With 10 locations, Headquartered in Chantilly, Va., Mosaic occupies a broad geographic footprint, serving customers in Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, West Virginia, Delaware and Washington, D.C.

Specialty tile products inc  (specialtytile.com)

Specialty Tile Products was founded in 1992. Based on Norcross, GA

Ann Sacks   (annsacks.com)

Headquarters in Portland, Oregon. With showrooms across the U.S. and in Vancouver, BC.

Standard Tile   (stamdartilenj.com)

Standard tile was founded in Brooklyn in 1920 With seven retail locations and one wholesale division. Is  one of New Jersey’s largest family-owned ceramic tile distributors.

CW Floors  (cwfloors.com)

CW Floors & Lighting is a construction company based out of 639 LANARK DR, San Antonio, Texas, United States.

Palmetto Tile Distributors   (palmettotile.com)

With 3 locations in South Carolina.

Nonn´s  (nonns.com)

With showrooms for tile flooring in Madison, Menomonee Falls, Waukesha and Middleton is one of the most important distributor in Wisconsin.

 Author:   Julio Sol

References:

www.porcellanato.com

www.porcelanato.com

www.porcelaintile.org

www.estrategia.com.ar

Home Depot annual report.

Lowe´s annual report.  

Floor and Decor annual report.